April Dinner Meeting

Our April dinner meeting in the Center Firehouse was catered by Maria’s Kitchen & titled “Build and Burrito Night.”  All Lions and guests enjoyed a delicious Mexican dinner.  Our guest speakers were from CAST (formerly Community Action Southold Town, now Center for Advocacy, Support, and Transportation) and Lion Archer Brown inducted new Lion Don Regan.

Membership Director Archer Brown performed the induction ceremony for new Lion Don Regan (on right), with his sponsor Lion Ed Brennan observing

Cathy Demeroto, Executive Director, and Karina Hayes (on right), Food Relief Program Manager, provided an informative presentation on CAST activities

SI Lions Annual Roadside Cleanup

On Saturday, April 9th, SI Lions and community volunteers picked up trash bags, gloves and safety vests at the Community Center/Legion Hall and collected all the trash they could find on the roadsides & beaches on Shelter Island.   SI Lions 3rd VP Susan Binder planned and organized the event.  A Shelter Island Highway Department dump truck was filled wth the trash and the roadsides are now quite noticeably cleaner — many thanks to all of the volunteers.  Here are a few photos from the cleanup effort:

Lion Chris in Florida

Lion Chris Carey volunteered with the Lions of the Naples Lions Club (in MD35) at a Spring Training game of the Minnesota Twins in Fort Myers, FL.   Here are a couple of pics he sent up to us:

March 2022 St. Patrick’s Day Dinner Meeting

The Shelter Island Firemen, led by Chef Jamie Cogan, served us a delicious (St. Patrick’s Day) corned beef and cabbage dinner at the Center Firehouse on March 17, 2022.  Five new Lions were inducted, including Rev. Stephen and Amy Adkison (sponsored by John D’Amato), Brett Surerus (sponsored by Janet D’Amato), Sara Gordon (sponsored by Peter Vielbig), and Cathy Driscoll (sponsored by Mary-Faith Westervelt).   The dinner speaker was Lion Terry Lucas, Director of the Shelter Island Public Library, who spoke on “SI Library Listening Session — Help Us Plan Our Future”.  She is seeking suggestions and opinions from all community members concerning the possible expansion of the library.   Here are some photos from the event:

Lion Terry Lucas, speaking about the potential library expansion.

Membership Co-Chair Archer Brown inducting Lions Sara Gordon, Cathy Driscoll, Brett Surerus, Rev. Stephen Adkison, and Amy Taylor-Adkison.

Shelter Island Lions Club Holiday Dinner – December 16, 2021

Approximately 50 Lions and guests enjoyed a great holiday dinner at The Ram’s Head Inn on December 16th.   Three new Lions were inducted in a ceremony led by Membership Co-Chair Archer Brown.   Here are a few photos from the event.

New Lion Larry Rosenberg

On the right, Membership Co-Chairs Don Dunning and Archer Brown

New Lions Dan and Lenore Berner

Volunteer Celebration BBQ at Wades Beach – October 2, 2021

SI Lions Dinner on September 23, 2021

45 Lions and their guests gathered for dinner on the porch at the Flying Goat Restaurant at the Shelter Island Country Club (aka “Goat Hill”).  President Darrin Binder welcomed the six guests (who are potential Shelter Island Lions) and described several upcoming Club events, including the Thank You (Hometown Heros Celebration) Barbecue, from 2:30 pm to 6:30 pm at Wades Beach on Saturday, October 2nd and the Scallop Dinner fundraiser, being held this year at Gardiner’s Bay Country Club on Saturday, October 23rd.

Here are a couple of photos from the event.

3rd Annual Cornhole Tournament — August 10, 2021